The Drive In

Need to escape the lockdown for a couple of hours? Great, because there's another drive in cinema heading our way. Peter Gray reports.

Drive-in cinemas, as it turns out, are a bit like buses. You wait ages for one, and then several turn up all at once. Hence, hot on the heels of the news that a drive-in cinema would be touring the country this summer, news reaches us that another drive-in cinema which will be setting up shop in London.

Unlike @theDriveIn, The Drive In (see what they did there? No, neither did we) will be remaining in the capital all summer, at Meridan Water in Enfield. The cinema is promising a line up of film, theatre, and live performance to cheer lockdown weary Londoners.

As you would expect, The Drive In will be observing rules on social distancing, with a two metre space between vehicles and refreshments available to order by app and delivered to your vehicle.   

Ok, but what are the films like, we hear you ask. Well, the Drive In has gone for a tried and tested formula of blockbusters and feel good movies with the likes of Dirty Dancing, The Shawshank Redemption and La La Land.

The full list is:

Sat 4th July        Dirty Dancing – 7:30pm

Sat 4th July        Bad Boys for Life – 10:40pm

Sun 5th July       The Terminator – 7:30pm

Mon 6th July     1917 – 7pm

Thurs 9th July    La La Land – 7pm

Fri 10th July       The Shawshank Redemption – 7pm

Sat 11th July      Priscilla Queen of the Desert – 7:30pm

Tues 14th July   Dirty Dancing – 7:30pm

Wed 15th July   1917 – 7pm

Thurs 16th July Bad Boys for Life – 7pm

Sat 18th July     La La Land – 2:30pm

Fri 24th July      Dirty Dancing – 7:30pm

Sun 26th July    1917 – 2:30pm

Thurs 30th July La La Land – 7pm

Fri 31st July       Bad Boys for Life – 10:40pm

The Drive In will be at Troubadour Meridian Water, Hawley Road, London, N18 3QU from the 4th of July 2020. Tickets cost £35 per car with a limited number of free tickets for every performance reserved for NHS workers. More information about the cinema can be found here.

For information on other great ways to access culture during the lockdown, please click here.

close

The city:countdown Newsletter

Sign up for London news, previews, exclusives and weekly prizes.

-London's Best Events-
What: drive in cinema
When: 4-31 July 2020
Where: Meridan Water, Enfield
Website: The Drive In