Four° In Winter EP – Rachel Chinouriri

The singer's eagerly awaited sophomore collection is released in late April 2021. Peter Gray reports.

-London's Best Events-

Rachel Chinouriri has today announced details of her forthcoming EP, ‘Four° In Winter’. The collection, which contains the singles Darker Place and Through The Eye, is set for release on the 23rd of April 2021.

The follow up to 2019’s Mama’s Boy, the EP has eight tracks, including Give Me A Reason, Plain Jane and I.D.R.N featuring hip hop star Louis Culture.

“Creating ‘Through The Eye’ was an experimental process. I wanted a track which focussed heavily on production, rather than my voice and my lyrics. I wanted people to transcend into another world when they hear it, and to tell the story with the sounds, instead of with my words. I wanted to use my voice as an instrument, building harmonies, and chopping, pitching, and playing with them to create something new and beautiful” says Chinouriri about the creation of one of the album’s standout tracks.

Here is the track listing for the collection:

  1. Give Me A Reason
  2. Darker Place
  3. Plain Jane
  4. Through The Eye
  5. Blue – Interlude
  6. Blue Disaster ft SAM DOTIA
  7. Lose Anything
  8. I.D.R.N ft Louis Culture

The singer will be playing a London gig to celebrate the release of the EP with a date at King’s Cross’s St Pancras Old Church lined up for the 29th of July 2021. The event, which will represent Chinouriri’s first post lockdown gig, will see the singer performing twice, at both 7 and 9pm.

Chinouriri first came to prominence with the release of her debut single, What Have I Ever Done. It was the artist’s next single, however, that really confirmed the young Londoner’s potential. So My Darling quickly racked up over 40,000 streams on Spotify alone, thanks to the tracks beautiful lyrics and irresistibly catchy melody.

It was no one off, however. Sounding like a mix between Lianne La Havas and Corinne Bailey Rae, Chinouriri has gone on to underline the potential she displayed on those early singles with a series of memorable releases, including the irresistibly catchy Adrenaline and the hypnotic Darker Place.

The singer says of the latter: “Darker Place is about the battle between light and darkness. I don’t fear darkness and believe that in the right circumstances, every human being has the potential to do anything.

I wrote this about a person who follows someone around but is conflicted on whether to act on impulse or hold their urges – that battle that this person has in their head.”

If the artist’s rise seems meteoric, it is even more sobering to think that the young Londoner recorded her first album at the tender age of 18, with nothing more than a £20 mic and her mother’s laptop.

That recording was soon attracting the attention of the likes of BBC Introducing and a contract with Marathon Artists quickly followed.

Suddenly, the girl who was recording get own music in her bedroom was performing to sell out crowds at The Great Escape and other high profile events.

If her previous releases are anything to go by, Four In Winter will be one of the records of the year. Not bad for a 22 year old South Londoner who was at music college only three years ago.

More information about Rachel Chinouriri can be found here.

For information on other great artists and music events in London, please click here.

-London's Best Events-
What: new EP
When: 23 April 21
Where: Spotify/Itunes/You Tube